The Law Offices of Christopher T. Campbell

Criminal

Criminal Charges

DWI/ DUI Drunk/ Drugged Driving

Of all the traffic tickets you can receive this is one of the most serious.  It is one of the few things which cannot be pled down to a lesser charge, including murder.  The penalties for driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs can be life-changing: 3 loss of license months for a first offender who is visibly intoxicated, 7-12 months for a breath test reading of over .10, and up to 30 days in jail; 30 days for those under the age of 21 who have ANY alcohol on their breath, and those with a commercial driver license also face various penalties. 

If you are facing a DUI/ DWI charge, click here to read more.


Drug Possession and Distribution

Drug arrests are the most common of all criminal offenses. Drugs of all different kinds can lead to significant legal penalties. Don’t allow drugs or their assorted legal penalties to ruin your future. We are qualified to provide you with high quality legal representation, click here to read more.

 


Gun and Weapon Offenses

 New Jersey has some of the strictest gun laws in the country.  Without a proper registration, you cannot possess a firearm outside of your home or place of business without risking a lengthy prison sentence.  Even when transporting a gun from place to place, there are rules.  These are limited to such reasons as to and from the shooting range, to and from a repair shop, or moving your belongings to a new residence.  

What is commonplace in some states will result in very severe penalties, including a presumption of a 5 year state prison sentence, and 3 of those years to be served before you are eligible for parole. 

If you are facing a gun or weapons offense, click here to read more.


he penalties for driving while suspended depend on why you your license was suspended to begin with.  There are many different types of reasons as to why your license could be suspended.

If you or are facing a charge for driving while suspended, click here to read more.

Driving while Suspended


In our increasingly digital and interconnected world, criminal activity done through computers or the internet can incur significant legal penalties. If you have been charged with a computer or cyber-based offense, you will want an experienced attorney who will fight for your rights and make sure that those rights are protected. We know how to provide the help you need if you are facing crime charges relating to improper computer use, click here to read more.

Computer Crimes


Consequences for assault depend and can vary on a case to case basis. It often times depends on how severe the crime was, whether or not there is a criminal history of the person alleged to have committed the assault, and if there were any damages. 

Many people tend to believe that murder and homicide are the same, however there are differences. Murder implies that there was an intent to kill the victim, while homicide just means that the victim was killed by the perpetrator.

Due to the seriousness of these crimes in the criminal justice system, it is best to hire an attorney to represent you, click here to read more.

Assault, Murder, Homicide, and Other Violent Offenses


There are many consequences for sexual assault in New Jersey that could potentially change life as you know it. If you have been charged with a sexual offense, you will want an experienced attorney who will fight for your rights and make sure that those rights are protected.

We know how to provide the help you need if you are facing sex crime charges, click here to read more.

Sexual Offenses


Juvenile crimes in the criminal justice system are a different than adult criminal actions. Children between the ages of 11 and 17 are subject to the juvenile justice system.  This is slightly different than the adult criminal system in that it is focused on rehabilitation not punishment. If your child faces involvement in the juvenile justice system, ensure that they have the benefit of high quality legal representation.

If you or someone you know is facing a juvenile charge, click here to read more.

Juvenile Crime


Theft from a retailer or other store constitutes shoplifting.  Shoplifting is different from other theft charges because if you ultimately are convicted of or plead guilty to shoplifting over any other charge, there is a mandatory jail sentence.  This includes shoplifting-related charges of possession of accessory shoplifting devices like a booster bag. 

When armed with a weapon or when injuring someone during the process, the charge is raised to a second degree level, where it is presumed that the defendant will be heading to state prison if convicted.

If you are facing theft or shoplifting, not at the outlets, charges, click here to read more.

Theft and Shoplifting


When you shoplift at the outlets, they prosecute you to the fullest extent of the law. Shoplifting is defined as the willful theft or attempted theft of merchandise from a retail establishment without the knowledge or consent of the seller, with the intention of converting those goods for one’s personal use and without having paid the purchase price.

If you are facing shoplifting charges that took place at the outlets, click here to read more.

Shoplifting at the Outlets


In New Jersey, it is unlawful to possess, display, and/or sell a fake ID. Young adults who attempt to purchase alcohol or gain access to bars with a fake ID, are risking being charged with a criminal matter.

Consequences for assault depend and can vary on a case to case basis. It often times depends on how severe the crime was, whether or not there is a criminal history of the person alleged to have committed the assault, and if there were any damages. 

If you are facing charges that are the result of a night out at the Jersey Shore, click here to read more.

Shore Bars and their consequences


In most cases of domestic violence, a restraining order is granted which is intended to protect the alleged “victim”. There are multiple different types of restraining orders typically issued. The order is initially granted temporarily, to give the accused the opportunity to plead their side of the story, which normally comes at the time of the restraining order hearing. Without a restraining order being vacated, the defendant is forbidden from having contact of any sort with the “victim”, their residency, and most frequently, the children.

If you are facing a criminal charge that allegedly is the result of domestic violence, or a restraining order, click here to read more.

Restraining orders and Domestic Violence


No one may enlist if he is currently in a criminal or civil process (trial, sentence, parole, unpaid fine). It must be, at least, 90 days after parole, probation, or confinement was completed to be eligible. Waivers are required if you have numerous minor infractions or a couple of serious (traffic or misdemeanor) offenses. More serious violations, including felony offenses reduced to a misdemeanor, could possibly be waived by someone at the district level. It is possible, but not likely, for a felony to get a waiver, but that can only be granted by one of the nation's regional headquarters when they determine that recruiting rates are low.

Click here to read more

Effects of arrest on Military Service


There are no such things as felonies and misdemeanors in NJ.  They are instead called crimes and offenses, but they are essentially the same thing.

Click here to read more

Degrees of Crime in NJ